God save our tyres, god save our sport

I was emotionally drained after the race. I believe that with winning “if” is not the only thing that matters, “how” and “why” matter a lot more for me. There is always this element of destiny to racing, but yesterday was extreme – with tyres exploding on Lewis’ car, with Sebastian’s gear box failure.  As unfortunate as it got for Lewis, he pretty much made the show – his battle with Paul Di Resta  was something we all love in Formula One, it was racing. Alonso was impressive, as was Massa. Webber did a great job of coming back through the field – yes he, unsurprisingly, had a terrible start, but the recovery was impressive with some racing on his way to second. At the end of a Grand Prix full of racing and fighting you want a winner who participated in what you loved about the Grand Prix. Pity we didn’t get that. In no way I am saying Rosberg didn’t deserve the win, you have to be there to benefit from misfortunes of the others, but I can’t help thinking that the scriptwriter ruined what could be a great plot. My love to Formula One is fueled by emotions apart from those whose victories make me happy there are drivers whose success makes me feel angry, there are those whose success impresses me and makes me feel jealous. As much as I don’t want Alonso or even Vettel to win, I still feel something. There’s nothing with Nico Rosberg. Yesterday I had a feeling that it was a shadow occupying the top spot of the podium. I missed a strong controversial personality on the top of the podium. Rationally, I know that one should be impressed with Rosberg: he outscored Michael Schumacher, he is doing a great job with Lewis Hamilton as his team mate. But I am not. Nico Rosberg doesn’t trigger any emotions for me. In terms of the plot, a win for Webber would obviously make for a Hollywood-style turn.

Mark Webber’s announcement that he’s leaving Formula One doesn’t come as a surprise. We all knew it was going to happen, and I believe that timing is right for him now to switch to endurance racing with a new team he can help to build. Porsche starts an interesting project, and it will be amusing to follow. I also believe that it is good for Mark to get out of Formula One. He’s been through a lot in the sport over his years in Formula One, he has driven bad cars and good cars, he has won races, he’s been through a lot of regulations changes, and now with the sport becoming something which is not fun anymore, it’s better to leave than to lose passion. The fact that the decision was made before Christmas and not forced by Malaysian controversy just makes it better. Webber has had a solid career in Formula One, he is one of the well respected drivers on the grid, but most importantly he’s an amazing sports personality – honest and straightforward. He will be missed. And his departure is actually alarming. When the likes of Webber and Button leave, who is the sport left with? Chiltons and Maldonados?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

